What are YOU thankful for?

I can’t believe it’s already November, this year seems to have just flown by.  I’m sure I wasn’t thinking that at the first of 2011.  It’s been quite a year, had a rollercoaster of events this year.  2011 started out pretty rough for me having a break-in occur at my house just before Christmas last year (2010).  There is nothing like that feeling of being invaded, of feeling unsafe and unsure of things around you.  The devistation, fear and anger that came along with it was almost unbearable.  ALMOST… well I beared it, I made it through that tough time and I even survived !  All in time !!

I know we need to be thankful year round, day in, day out – but sometimes we forget to stop and think about the good in our lives, the blessings and the rewards we are given.  So I wanted to jot down some of the many things I am thankful for.

*I am thankful for the incredible woman that brought me into this world.  My mom amazes me with her big heart and her openness to people.  She is such a giving person and has always been there for me and so many others.  She is selfless and gives of her time, her energy, her spirt and anything else she has to offer.  I see her often put herself and her own wishes and desires aside to do for and give to others.  She has taught me so much, both directly and indirectly by just witnessing her daily on-goings with others.  She was both a mom and dad after my dad passed away when I was 8.  I know now as an adult that it was not easy for her, that she made many sacrafices then and continues to do so today as she takes care of others around her.  I wish we lived closer and I could enjoy her more often then the occassional visit.  I only hope I can grow into the kind of person she is.  Thank you God for such an amazing gift.

*I am thankful for my job, actually my two jobs.  I know the economy is bad and people are struggling and jobs can be scarce at times.  I am thankful for the job and company I have worked for now going on 12 years.  I am also thankful to the part time job I have on the weekends that it is one that I enjoy.  1 job is hard enough, I can’t imagine having to work 2 jobs and hating it.

*I am thankful for my doctors and those around me that try to encourage me to do better and take care of my health.  I have had a mass load of troubles with almost 10 surgeries in the past 6 years.  Diagnosis of Diabetes and other ailments.  I have never battled anything like I am this Diabetes, but I am thankful for those that educate me and try to keep me on the right path.  I am thankful for being alive today.

*I am thankful for my wonderful bestfriend and boyfriend that I have been with now for nearly 5 years.  He drives me crazy a majority of the time, but not a day goes by that I am not thankful he is in my life.  I am thankful for the way he makes me smile when I am pissed at him.  I am thankful for the way he can make me feel safe when I feel scared, or weak, or alone.  I am thankful for his willingness to work on himself and our relationship with me in our journey.

*I am thankful for my life – my house, my family, my job, my animals.  I am thankful that I can stop and smell the roses and enjoy the little things in life.  I am thankful that although I have a busy, hectic, sometimes complicated life, I can appreciate the step it takes to get to where my life is.  I am thankful for the desire to always improve, continue to learn, strive to do more and be more and to never stop living.

I wish and pray for others to have a blessed and safe holiday and to stop and think about all the things “YOU” have to be thankful for.

2 responses to “What are YOU thankful for?

  1. Thank you for Believing in me and in us. I am so happy being there with you and hope we have many more years together. I know things get crazy sometimes but it does not change how i feel about you. Love you Sweetie.

Leave a Reply

