It Pays to be Healthy

**Previously posted on 1/18/12 in old blog**

I heard this statement today, but I find it rather backwards.  I think the phrase should be “It COSTS to be Healthy”.

Since I recently started this healthy new journey I have noticed just how much it costs to be healthy, or to try to eat healthy.   I needed to waste some time while Chris was in class last night so after walking the mall for an hour… great activity points collected… I went over to Wal-Mart to walk around some more.   I figured while there I would take a look at some healthier snack options.   I also wanted to take a look at some of the healthy ready meal options.    So what is the real reason all the healthier, non-fat, low-fat, sugar-free items are so much pricier than the “unhealthy” alternatives? 
I was just venting my frustrations the other night to Chris about the higher cost of healthy foods.  Society, news, doctors and who-knows-whoelse is always talking about how “fat” America is getting… however they don’t make it very easy to be healthy and even harder to get healthy once you have let yourself get outta-control.  The costs of health food, vitamins, fresh fruits and veggies are all so much more expensive than the alternative. The additional time it takes to cook healthier at home is so much more than the quick and easy fix.  It’s a catch 22 for sure.  

I myself work 2 jobs, Chris my boyfriend works full time and goes to college full time as well, so we are busy from morning to night 7 days a week.  By the time we get home, get the dogs outside, do homework, run errands, pay bills, grocery shop, laundry, or whatever else we need to get done we hardly have time to do much of anything else.  It’s hard to find time for me to cook a healthy meal.   Maybe these are just excuses I make for myself??  I need to find a better way to organize my time, that’s for sure.

I know you can say that back in the day there were no meal replacement bars, fad diets, or George Forman grills and people ate well and were healthier for doing so, but then again they grew their own vegetables, walked to work and got a goodnights sleep.   I need to find a way to live like they did in the Olden Days :)    I don’t see myself growing my own fruits and veggies… I definitely don’t have a green thumb, I mean I can kill a cactus with ease.  So no gardening here.  I am just going to have to stick with healthier choices, learn to premake my own healthier meals and take the necessary time to take care of myself.

There are a lot of things I would like to do differently and one of them was an idea I read from a fellow blogger.  I am really liking this blog since I came across it.  It’s informative and relatable to me and my situation.  The post that really caught my attention was the one about multi-tasking.  I am guilty myself of eating at my desk at work (all the time), and infront of the TV.  I want to change this habit and see how that will affect my snacking habits.  I think it’s a great idea to get into the routine of not eating in front of the TV, not that I get much TV time. 

Sooo here’s to new ideas, changing bad routines to good ones and making way for a healthier ME (hoping it doesn’t cost and arm and a leg in the process)!!

3 responses to “It Pays to be Healthy

Leave a Reply

