Epic fail, but there’s still hope !

So, if you haven’t read already, I am trying to GET ON a healthy kick.  I have planned ahead and managed to cook healthy dinners 2 nights in a row now.  The first night was a HUGE SUCCESS, but I am quite disappointed in night 2.  I was really in hope of liking my new creations – new to me.

Last night the menu was:
Lean boneless pork chops
Butternut squash baked fries
Mock Mashed potatoes – made from cauliflower

Chris and I had neither tried these 2 vegetables, but we are very open minded and going to try new things and re-train our brains from the junk we have both been raised on.

I found a recipe for butternut squash fries and they looked and sounded easy to make.  I cut up the squash as directed into thin strips.  I then put them on foil sprayed with canola oil, sprinkled some season salt, paprika and chili powder on them and popped those babies in the oven.   I turned them mid bake as directed but they never seemed to crisp up.  I cooked them well over the time in the recipe, because I was hoping they would crisp up.  NOPE.. so we tried them… Chris ate his serving, but I really couldn’t get past the mushy texture.  I wasn’t a big fan of the taste of the squash either.  Jaxon loved them – he’s my bull mastiff.   I thought I would try a sweeter version of these so I tried again.  I cut them very thin like a potato chip thin.  I think sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on them and hoped for the best.  They still didn’t really crisp up and the taste of the squash still didn’t thrill me.  I was disappointed.  I so wanted to like them.  I threw the rest of the squash away.   My sister suggested I try and broil them… if I decide to try again, I might try that.

The mock potatoes — I boiled the cauliflower for about 10 mins and was amazed at how soft it was after that, soft enough to mush with a fork.  I added a little cheese and milk. (I didn’t have a recipe for this so I was improvising) I think I should of left the milk out cause the consistency was a little runny.  Not as thick as I would prefer.  I took a nervous bite… and what would you know, it really tasted like mashed potatoes. I was really shocked.  It wasn’t the best consistancy due to the milk… so I will have to try this again sometime.  I haven’t given up on cauliflower yet 🙂

The boneless pork chops that we had marinated all night in the Lowery’s steakhouse and chop marinade were placed out on the grill for a few minutes and they turned out perfect.  Juicy, flavorful and a huge success !!!

Although everything didn’t turn out perfect, it was fun working with Chris in the kitchen, and I feel good about us trying new things.  I know we are not going to love everything, but I am glad we are at least trying !!

 

5 responses to “Epic fail, but there’s still hope !

  1. I don’t like butternut squash either, unless it’s covered in butter and brown sugar, which kind of defeats the purpose. But kudos to you for trying something different. Keep doing it. You’ll find some delicious veggies out there. My favorite right now is sauted baby spinach with garlic, which I use to bulk up scrambled eggs in the morning.

  2. I always had the same problem with mashed cauliflower – too runny. But it really is surprising how tasty it is! I live off Edamame beans at the moment. A really neat website is Epicurious.com. You can type in a certain ingredient ie: eggplant, and it will list all these fabulous receipes that use it. Might be a nice tool for you. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by and giving me such a good resource. That will definitely help me out !!! I do like Edamame too, so I need to stock up on some of that too.

Leave a Reply

