Frightening Wake Up Call

When you think of wake up calls, it’s usually a phone call you have set up to receive in order to be up and going by a specific time. Well my Sunday morning wake up call wasn’t so welcoming. 

My sister and her family were in town to do some last minute school shopping for her kids and to celebrate my nieces 15 birthday.  We had a great Saturday. Hit up some early garage sales, went bowling for a few hours, had lunch and cake, did some shopping and then took the kids to go race go-carts and play mini-golf. Had a Ranger’s win and a Cowboy’s game all in the same day.  Good stuff.

Well Sunday morning approximately 5:30 am my sister and her hubby were awaken from a dead sleep by the screaming for help outside. They both went to the window in the spare bedroom which is on the front side of my house that overlooks the front yard. My sister is shocked to see so many people in the middle of the street. A suburban stopped in the middle of the street and yelling and screaming from different people.  They weren’t sure if it was kids or what was going on until they heard the yelling “Get out of the f’ing car, I’m gonna beat your a$$”.  Then she sees a crowd of people beating on two girls as they move up and onto the sidewalk in front of my house. My sister said it sounded like someone got slammed up against her vehicle which was in my driveway. The girls begin to scream for help and one starts to run down the street as the suburban reverses and flies backwards in the direction of the girl running. Then another small black car speeds away in the other direction.  My sister comes to wake me and by the time I got to the front door everyone was gone. It was dark outside and I ran out to the street to see if I could see anything and nothing. I called 911 and asked that they send some officers to the area to look around. As the dispatcher was asking me questions, I went to go back in the house to get my sister who could better answer those questions, as I was going in I could hear a females voice far off but couldn’t make out what was being said.  As my sister took over the phone with the dispatcher we both walk out to my driveway near the street. I then hear the scariest thing ever, the faint cries of a female screaming for help. It was distant and faint and so scary sounding. I couldn’t tell where it was coming from.  There is a street about 10 feet from my drive way the the right and then an alley to the left of my house, directly across from my neighbors house.  I immediately head for the alley as I listen for her screams again. My sister hears it as well and is relaying the info to the dispatcher. My sister freaks out and tells me not to go down that dark alley alone. (I later agree that it was a stupid idea of mine to even think about heading down that pitch black alley w/ no light, alone. Not my brightest moment, LITERALLY) I began to yell out “hello”, “where are you”, “are you okay” and after about 5 cries out from her it stops.  I don’t know if it stops because she is dead, if she can’t cry out anymore, if she is afraid I am those hurting her, or what, but it freaked me out.  I felt so helpless.  I could hear a girl crying out for help and I could tell she was hurt by the way she sounded and I could not find her.  My heart was breaking, I wanted to cry.  Then 4 cop cars show up with lights everywhere.  It was still dark out so it was hard to see anything. We explained what we heard and what my sister saw and they said they would patrol the area. 

My heart is pounding so hard right now just thinking about how I felt at that moment, about the sounds of her voice. There is a fire in my chest right now.  I hate how involved I let myself get sometimes, especially over things I have no control over. 

I went and logged onto the fire dept scanner, we don’t have a police scanner online for our city.  I wasn’t sure if anything would come across or not, but I knew I couldn’t sleep.  About 6:30 an ambulance is dispatched out. There was a small black Mitsubishi that was calling in about 2 girls getting jumped.  They had left the location they were at which was a cul-de-sac but were returning b/c that is where the ambulance was, the dispatcher said they were pulling up behind the ambulance.  The ambulance then came back a little bit later and said they were transporting a female to the hospital.  That’s all the info that came over.  So I’m assuming it’s probably the same girls and hopefully the situation was taken care of.  I called the PD later in the evening to see if they had anything on file and the dispatcher said that the only thing she had in the records around that time was that 2 females were spoken to by some officers but it didn’t have anything else in detail about it.  

All I know is my blood was pumping and there was no way I was going back to sleep at that point. It was really strange to be awaken in such a manner, especially since the only noise problems I have had in the 2 years I have lived in my house was the remodel of my neighbors house that went on to late in the night. It’s a very quiet neighborhood, that’s for sure. 

 

 

One response to “Frightening Wake Up Call

Leave a Reply

