What a WIENER !!!

Yep, that’s what I would call it. ME !!! …and that’s a nice way of saying it.

You might refer to it as being a sucker, a weak person, no guts, a push-over, spineless… well whatever your choice I fit that mold today.

I have a part time job on the weekends doing demonstrations at Costco. It’s not a hard job by any means, and I enjoy the enteracting with all the people. However, it is very repetative, you are constantly moving back and forth as you either cook your samples, stirring items, cutting items, serving your trays, and switching out samples, cleaning up and all the while talking your head off… or you should be if your any good at the job. I’m great with the people, I love shouting out my speal and pulling customers into my little sample world.

Well last weekend was the weekend before Labor Day and it was super busy with shoppers doing their last minute shopping for a possible BBQ, party and other fun activites. Then there were the ones you see every weekend that never seem to buy anything but make sure to have their “roaming lunch” on the house. So being the auctioneer that I am, my boss likes to give me “busy” demos. Busy demos are ones that everybody loves like ice cream, candy, pasta, meat of any kind, etc. Well I actually had 3 demos in one. I had to demo the Smoked Pulled Pork, the Austin’s Own BBQ sauce and he Hawaiian Sweet Rolls. So I was making BBQ Pork Sandwiches. WHO doesn’t love BBQ? WHO doesn’t love those Hawaiian sweet rolls? VERY FEW !! So I was busy making about 2000 miniture bbq sandwiches. I was so busy, I couldn’t get a full tray to present. We usually have a little time to prepare a tray to then put out for people to sample. People were grabbing them as fast as I could put them out. I hardly had time to look up. It sure makes the day go by fast though.

So moving on, sorry I’m so long winded 🙂 I don’t know what I did, maybe it was picking the microwave up off the bottom to put on the top of my cart. Maybe it was the juggling I was doing with the sandwiches, I don’t know for sure, but my back began to hurt. The next two days I was so sore I could hardly walk. The pain was below my right shoulder blade and moved to my side near my ribs. Chris rubbed muscle rub on me and said it felt swollen. I couldn’t reach my arm around. Well I went to the DR yeasterday and she confirmed it was a muscle and it was inflammed and gave me some muscle relaxers. I was sore this morning and had a meeting, but didn’t want to be a zombie in my meeting so I jsut took some ibuprophen. Well it didn’t cut it. I was hurting pretty bad by lunch time. After lunch, I called my part time boss and told him I wasn’t going to make it in this weekend and what had happened. He then proceeds to give me a guilt trip, telling me “what if I gave you something easy”? I told him I was trying to not injure it further and that I didn’t want to have to take pain meds while at work. I told him I would call him in the morning to let him know how I was feeling. He said can you call me as soon as possible because I am down on demos and I need everyone. I need you. I said well I will call you soon and said goodbye.

I then felt guilted into saying yes and going into work. I don’t like to leave someone in a bind and I don’t like calling into work unless I am in the hospital, nearly dying. LITERALLY !! I’ve run a high fever for nearly a week with a horrible infection that had me sitting at work with blankets and chills because it was month end, qtr end and they needed me at work until 10 at night. The sunday after that I was in the ER and going into emergency surgery to remove a mass that was in my breast that had gotten so bad that it nearly took my whole boob off. YEAH I KNOW, I’m an idiot with a Franken-boob now. That’s what I call it now. So self concience about it, but since I’m past the flashing days I don’t have to worry about anyone but Chris seeing it and he loves it scar and all. I have 3 scars from that surgery because they had 2 tubes all the way through that were sewn in for draining after my surgery. I had those stupid things in for 2 months or so. What a pain in the ASS BOOB !!!

I know I am off topic now, but I hate that I am such a push over. I hate that I give up so quickly and sacrafice myself, my health, my spirit, my time just to please and satisfy and make things easier for everyone else. Bad thing is I know what I am doing and I still do it.

What do they call it when you do the same things over and over again and expect a different outcome?? Oh yeah, INSANITY !!!

Maybe I should change the title…STOP THE INSANITY !!! Ah Well !! What’s an INSANE WIENER to do??

XOXOX
~McQty~

Leave a Reply

