Trying something new

Well I gotta tell you about some new stuff going on…

First off, I wanted to share with you a recipe I found on Pinterest. Pinterest, is so addicting, there should be a 12 step program for it.

Image

 

I have found a few ton of  awesome recipes and I am just starting to use them.  I came across a recipe for Bacon Cheeseburger Meatballs.   I am really trying to eat more healthy and try healthier alternatives, so what on earth was I thinking  when checking out this recipe?  Well, I have a few criteria when marking a recipe as a “to-do” recipe.

  1. Must sound somewhat appetizing.  (Not slaving in the kitchen for something my dogs would turn down, too)
  2. Must be simple, easy to make.  (I am not Julia Child or the next Iron Chef)
  3. Must not require a truck load of ingredients.  (I do not own a truck)
  4. Must not require off the wall ingredients.  I don’t mind buying something special to complete the recipe, but lets get real on some of these ingredients.  (I’m not traveling to another country to get an herb)

So this recipe after reviewing it, was definitely appetizing, simple, few ingredients and I had all of those ingredients or could get them easily at a nearby store.  Now, onto the healthy part… I know that’s the part your wondering too, what on earth is healthy about bacon?  Well, I decided to give it a shot and put a few twists on it to make it healthier.  (GO ME !!)  I substituted ground turkey for the beef and turkey bacon for the “good” bacon.  I also am not a fan of onions, but I do like the flavor they add, so I omitted the onion and used onion flakes instead.

Here is the link to the original recipe I found.  Great blog called Amy’s Cooking adventure.  She has some other yummy ideas too – check her out.

I love that Chris is willing to try healthier alternatives with me, he will eat almost anything anyway.  He’s not a fan of the “good” bacon, but he liked the turkey bacon, it was our first time to try it.  NOT BAD.

I made the meatballs in the oven for myself and Chris requested patties to put on a burger, so he got his wish too.  I left the meatballs in about 5 mins longer than the recipe called for because I like things a little more crispier… and they turned out well.

Mine turned out looking just like these.  Go figure.  I like when things turn out the way their suppose to.  So I recommend giving it a try, and enjoy this easy-to-do recipe.

On a side note – I gotta say that it actual pays off when I eat healthier and take my meds/insulin like I’m suppose to.  My blood sugars have come down and have maintained a steady number for the last week or so.   My dr wants me in the 80-140 range.

My 7 day average is 131
My 14 day average is 135

It was better before yesterday when I jumped up to a 200 because of a damn sugar cookie that took me hostage and made me eat it.  It was a delicious cookie, so all-in-all worth it.  Haven’t had any other sweets as of late, so I was deserving 🙂

I have a couple more recipes I am planning for, so I will keep you posted.

MOVING ON NOW –  I gotta get the word out on a fellow bloggers newly, released book.  If you like humor, if you like someone that tells it like it is, who isn’t afraid to call someone out on their moments of stupidity, then you should check out THE HOOK. He has a couple of great blogs that often have me laughing out loud and then trying to explain to those around me what was so funny.  Some people just don’t understand !!  His new book The Bellman Chronicles, is now available on Amazon.   I picked up my electronic copy, and you should grab you a copy too.  You will be glad you did.  Enjoy the adventure THE HOOK will take you on.

You can find THE HOOK at the following locations –

You’ve Been Hooked

The Book of Terrible

Don’t forget to grab, The Bellman Chronicles, on Amazon.  Tell THE HOOK, McQty sent you !!

Happy Hump Day everyone.

~McQty~

One response to “Trying something new

Leave a Reply

