Where’s the time go?

Where the heck did October go? 2012 is almost over.  Where does the time go?  This past weekend we made a quick trip back home to see my family and watch my youngest nephew play in his last soccer game of the season.  I miss the days when I got to go and watch the kids in their sporting events.  Working 2 jobs just does not allow me that luxury anymore.  I took Saturday off from the pt job and we headed out Friday night after work.  I made sure my sister didn’t say anything to Frankie cause I wanted him to be surprised.  I love how excited he gets when I come home to visit. He is such an awesome kid.  Well we made it to town just after 9pm and I told my sister we needed to grab some dinner b/c we didn’t stop to eat on the way, so we decided to all meet up at Taco Casa. I love their nachos !! So we got there before my sister arrived and she and I were texting each other back and forth the whole way to the place.  The texts were sooo funny.  Here are some of the texts… (I can be a dork when I get excited and I was definitely excited) We cut it close because we had to go by my mom’s to drop off my dogs so they were not in the car while we ate.  My sister had picked my mom up some food and was in route to her house… So we dropped off the dogs and left asap.

SISTER: Getting moms food now and going to take it to her. 
ME: We have to drop the dogs off there. We are dropping them off now then leaving for TC.
ME: Leaving for TC now.
SISTER: I’m heading to moms
ME: We left there, don’t let Frankie go in cause he will see our dogs.  Be sure to park far enough back in the driveway that he can’t see into the house.
SISTER:I’ll meet you at TC in a minute. 
ME: Hurry I am hungry
SISTER: I’m trying. 
ME: Tell me when you do the drop off at mom’s.  This Chicken has flown the coop. 
ME: The blue bird is near it’s destination (my car is blue)
SISTER: I just did the drop off, now turning onto highway.
ME: The blue bird has landed and is waiting for you at the TC. 
ME: The blue bird will land on the other side of beaner joint so he doesn’t see us.
SISTER: K
ME: We have landed.
ME: We are waiting on the silver bullet with the little Indian boy to arrive (my sister’s van is silver and we are native american)
SISTER: I’m in the red wagon. Just passed the truck stop. (she had my moms vehicle)
ME: OHHH blue bird is waiting on Red Robin.
SISTER: @ the Walmart stop sign.
ME: Red Robin has a broken wing, it’s moving slow.
SISTER: @ 4 way stop.
ME: I’m about to fry up that bird and eat it. 
SISTER: Pullin in.

So we waited for them to enter the building and then we went around and entered behind them. We stood there for a good minute before Frankie finally turned around and saw me and the look on his little face was priceless.  I love that face !!  He was so excited and I was so happy to surprise him.  First thing he said was you can go to my game tomorrow… I said that’s the reason I am here.

The next morning we were up bright and early, bundled up (it’s COLD in Tx) and headed to the field.  They won their game 4-1 and ended up coming in 2nd place.  His team also won the sportsmanship award and his coach got coach of the year.  I was so proud.

I have to tell you, I laughed so hard during his game, I literally had tears.  After half time, Frankie was running out onto the field in his green shirt and socks.  His dad who is usually really quiet and reserved and also embarrasses easily yelled out – GO GREEN GO !!!  I heard (GO GRINGO) I turned to him and said who the heck are you calling a GRINGO ??  He said what? I said, you said GO GREEN GO (GO GRINGO) and we all busted out laughing.  It was so funny.  Then I said the funny thing is, a mexican is calling another mexican a GRINGO.  I could not stop laughing.  Just as I had regained my composure and dried my eyes, another parent down the way yells GO GREEN GO (GO GRINGO) and I lost it all over again.  The little things that amuse me… sooo funny.  We then did some grilling and had a cake for my mom’s birthday since I won’t be able to be there on the 7th when her real day comes around.  She was surprised as well cause she had no idea.  The time went way to fast and we were back on the road to home to get ready for work on Sunday.

I hope you all had a great weekend and found something to make you smile.  My sister’s kids (my babies) definitely make me smile.

Happy Monday All !!
~McQty~

 

Leave a Reply

